Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Couldn't get clipped out and fell

To disable ads, please log-in.

Well, I finally did it. I knew riding clipless was going to have its moments and I had one of them on Saturday. I'm new to riding clipless and I just didn't get my right foot out in time. I went for a 20 mile bike ride on my new road bike and was nearing the end of my ride, went to come to a stop and I got my left foot out, was putting it on the ground, and just didn't get my right foot out and WHAM I went down on my right side, luckily into some grass. It didn't hurt, and thank goodness no one was nearby. I bounced right back up with only a grass burn on my leg. However, my shoulder, and the area around my elbow are very sore now. I'm hoping I didn't do any damage to my arm.

I'm blaming the fall on being tired and just not having the energy to get my darn foot clipped out in time. I'm just glad no one was watching.

yikes... hope your arm is OK... and sorry ya fell.

I have a question... it sounds like you unclip both feet? Were you getting completely off the bike? Just curious... when I stop I only unclip one side and then lean that direction slightly... I leave the other foot clipped in unless I am SAG-ing or dismounting the bike...

anyway, hope you'll ba back to new in no time...
    There is a fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness".

Aaahhh, now that milestone is past.

Love my clipless, hate falling over. Soft cushy grass is good. Try putting some ice on your elbow for 15 or 20 minutes, see if that helps.
    "If Americans want to live the American Dream, they should go to Denmark." - Richard Wilkinson

awww sorry you fell! BUT... we've all done it! heck.... i fell in my driveway before even getting on my first ride!