Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Wondering about cadence?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I just got a computer that has cadence as a feature. I am interested in what and "ideal" cadence is? How can I use this feature to improve my riding? Any advice? Thanks.

Play around with your computer. When you feel like you have reached a comfortable spin check out what your cadence is and attempt to keep it close. When I started riding last spring my goal was to keep my cadence in the 80-85 zone. As the season progressed this number increased as my strength and endurance improved. Just remember what works for one does not necessarily work for someone else. Find the zone that best fits you.

Marcie

At a bike fit that I had a couple of weeks ago I heard this explanation (he had a pedal stroke analysis computer hooked up to my bike - how cool is that). Around 90-100 rpm is the point at which you start using your slow twitch muscles - these are the endurance muscles that don't tire as quickly. Under about 90 rpm you are using mainly fast twitch muscles, so keeping a high cadence will allow you to go farther without tiring as much.
    "Sharing the road means getting along, not getting ahead" - 1994 Washington State Driver's Guide

visit my flickr stream http://flic.kr/ps/MMu5N

I think this is a highly subjective question. I just invested in a cyclo-computer this year that measures cadence. I've heard all varieties of opinions.

One of my very athletic cycling friends insists 90-100 RPMs is the way to go.

I had one of the guys in the LBS tell me the 90-100 RPM business stems from how Lance Armstrong rides, so it has been very popular.

I recently read an article... I believe in Runner's World... talking about runners becoming triathletes and learning to cycle. They encouraged keeping at least 80 RPM.