Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Talking Ohmigod, I just bought a Titus Racer X!

To disable ads, please log-in.

I almost can't believe I did this, but I am so excited! I have posted a couple of questions in this forum in the last week as I am new to mountain biking, but have been road riding for years. I've been enjoying riding with a friend lately, and just in the past week I started researching full-suspension mtbs online thinking that "next year" I might want to upgrade. (I have a heavy, entry-level hardtail that I discovered yesterday weighs 32 lbs, and I weigh under 105, so it's pretty hard to haul her up the hills, and the bumps hurt in back!) I quickly fell in bike lust with the Santa Cruz Juliana and the Titus Racer X, especially the latter, which so many here rave about (as do the reviews on mtbr.com). But there's no way I could justify the cost of either bike new at this early stage in my mtb riding life.

Well, I started searching on ebay, and you know what that can lead to....the crazies! There was a nice-looking Juliana (size small) I was interested in, but when I emailed the seller about the weight, it turned out to weigh nearly 27 lbs - lighter, but not fantastic. Then, late last night, I found a newly listed Titus Racer X in an XS frame, 24 lbs. Ohmigod, I hardly slept last night. It was not a regular auction but in an ebay store for a fixed price, so I knew it could sell at any minute. I was a bundle of nerves because the price was amazing, it was my size, and I knew what a fantastic bike it was from everything I'd read just in the past few days. AND, I'd just gotten a bonus at work equal to the price of the bike! I was so scared someone else would buy it at any minute, before I was absolutely sure I should be its next owner.