Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

0 to 65 in 9 months - Kind of long

To disable ads, please log-in.

Well - I did it! First metric century! Not bad considering I just started riding last August - and really didn't ride from November thru April.

It was a really nice ride for an organization - Cycling For Life - raising money to help kids with cancer. Lots of back country roads and not a lot of traffic. They didn't post the route ahead of time - so I was not mentally prepared for all of the hills there were. They killed me! Way too many I just had to walk up. I hated to do it, but I just couldn't turn the pedals any more.

The first 40 wasn't too bad - then the killer wind kicked in! I was ready to give up at 50, but my DH told me to just try to do 5 more - and then after that it would just be silly to call them to get us - so I did 5 more. And then it ended up being 5 more after that. The last 2 I really didn't think I was going to do it. There was one last hill to do and the wind was just so awful I nearly broke. But I did it. It wasn't pretty, graceful, or quick - but I did it!

My legs really weren't too bad. A little tired, but not really sore. My neck, shoulders, back, and arms and BUTT were a totally different story! My arms could barely hold my weight by the end. My sit bones were killing me! Don't think I could have ridden another inch. Everything wasn't too bad by the next day though.

Was also my first ride really using my clipless pedals. I didn't fall once! Very happy about that. I am kind of thinking I wasn't doing it entirely right though since my hamstrings didn't hurt. But I'll get there!