Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Specialized Ruby comp and sizing help.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hey, I'm new to cycling and would like some help with my 1st bike. I found a Specialized Ruby comp on Craigslist for what I think is a good price($500), but I'm not sure if it's the right size for me. It is a woman's extra small, 44cm, I'm 5'2" with a 28"(I think) inseam . Does anyone have a clue if it would be to small or fit okay?

I should go to my LBS and get properly measured I know, but I'm currently at work and am going to take a break in a few hours to go pick it up, so I don't have time to do that.

I hope someone can help me. Thanks!

Welcome to TE!

You should ask the owner if the bike has ever been crashed, and look carefully for signs of damage. A damaged Carbon frameset can fail without warning.

Ask if you can meet the owner at a bike shop, and have the shop determine if it is the correct size and inspect the frame for soundness. They should charge a small fee for this, but not too much. Later, you can do a fitting at the same shop.

Don't be in such a hurry. There is always another of whatever it is out there. TE could probably help you keep an eye out. Deals come up all the time.

Edit: for fit, It sounds within the correct range, but I'm 5'7", you are probBly better off waiting for someone else to help with that.

Here is the geometry chart to make it easier.

http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bik...-comp#geometry

A 44 cm carbon bike will be difficult for them to sell. It's a very specialized audience. Take your time and don't let them rush you.
    Last edited by Muirenn; 03-30-2015 at 10:03 AM.
    So long as the wheels are still turning, life is good.

Battswebb

Pinarello Quattro~CAADX~ Zurich Lemond
    Specialized Romin Saddles

Surly Krampus!