Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Newbie here checking in!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie for sure. For Mother's Day this year I bought myself a hybrid bike, Ariel Sport. Before 2 weeks ago I hadn't been on a bike in 12 years! Anyway I decided I needed a change. There is a local trail I found in my town that goes for 33 miles. This past Sunday I managed to ride 12 miles on it. It is mostly small crushed stone and some paved and very scenic.

I am also involved in a local Bike Camp that runs for 4 weeks that teaches you some basics. Last night I did my first road ride (16 miles) and I must say the hills kicked my butt for sure!

I need to consider something different than just the stock flat pedals. I had thought about going with a toe clip pedal to start. Clipless pedals scare me to tell the truth.

Anyway so far I think I am doing good. I will post pics of my bike soon once I figure out how

Happy mother's day!! Welcome to TE.

- Gray Trek Madone 4.7 road bike, mystery crack in top tube repaired by Calfee, Bontrager Affinity RXL saddle
    - Red Trek 6000 mountain bike, Bontrager Evoke WSD saddle

Gone but not forgotten:
    - Silver Trek 2000 road bike
    - Two awesome and worn out Juliana saddles

The toe clips would be a great 1st choice with minimal investment. I used those for 2 years before going clipless!

Thanks, I read about the toe clips being a good 1st choice. I am glad they work for you. I am not ready to go clipless just yet

welcome to the slippery slope of being addicted to biking. Its a steep learning curve but you will enjoy every minute.
    marni
    Katy, Texas
    Trek Madone 6.5- "Red"
    Trek Pilot 5.2- " Bebe"

"easily outrun by a chihuahua."