Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

what mtb for a beginner who is short?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I am 4'11" and just a beginner. I went mtn biking a couple of times but the bikes I borrowed (from friends) were too big so it was not really fun but I would still go again.
    I tried the Trek Lush SL WSD with the 26" wheels. It has FS but everyone tells me to get a hardtail because I am a beginner but I can't seem to find one that would fit. I would like to get a mtn bike so I could go with friends and switch it up from riding road.
    Is the FS overkill for a beginner?
    Can I actually find something my size?

What do you suggest?

I work at a bike shop an employee recommended it because it is the best that I would get. But then another employee kind of had a kick out of it and laughed and said I would ruin the bike because I won't learn anything from a FS.

Re: what mtb for a beginner who is short?

I'd ignore those people. We bought entry level 26" hardtails, had them a month and a half when we traded them in for full suspension.

Go for what is most comfortable for you and ignore what others say. There is no wrong choice and saying you won't learn anything on a FS is just bs.

I got a bike that was far above my ability level, but because of that I was willing to try things that I wouldn't even consider on the other bike.
    2012 Jamis Quest Brooks B17 Blue
    2012 Jamis Dakar XC Comp SI Ldy Gel
    2013 Electra Verse

I've heard different schools of thought on HT versus FS bikes for beginners. Some believe that if yoiu learn on an HT, you'll develop better habits in terms of clearing obstacles and picking a good line. Others believe you should use a FS if it'll make riding more enjoyable and/or if the trails in your area necessitate it.