Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thinking of starting to ride cross in the fall...

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hey all! Long time no see!

I'm still road riding and currently training to ride a century! Unfortunately, the Missouri weather has not been very helpful with my training goals but I don't plan to ride until sometime in August or September. I'm studying for PhD comprehensive exams in September and the training is allowing me to keep some of my sanity.

However, I've been lucky enough this year to find a group of female cyclists to do regular rides with. Many of them do some serious cross riding. They are extremely cool and encouraging and seem to think I should give it a shot - especially since I've wanted to try for several years now. But I am not even sure where to start! I feel like I will look like an idiot. These ladies have been so nice but I feel out of the loop. On road bikes, I am not a fish out of water but with a cross-bike... oye vay.

One of my profs is moving and needs to get rid of her MTB. So, as of now, it looks like I will be inheriting a very nice MTB. Her husband used to race MTB's professionally and says it will be workable for me. She is the same height as me and built very similarly so this bike will work for me for now, at least. The ladies I ride with say the MTB is a good place to start on our local cyclocross circuit. The bike currently is without pedals and tires. It needs some maintenance work, too, but I am always up to that challenge. I am going to keep the 26'' tires that are on it for now. I might make mods and put 700s on in the future if that's possible. The bike shop here told me that I have few options for good cross tires. Any suggestions? The ones they have seem to be feasible and in my price range (about $30.00-$40.00).