Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Cool Cleaning and lubing the chain for the first time: what can go wrong?

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi everyone:

I have a new road bike and I've been riding for two months, on weekends, in good weather. Question: All the books say to clean and lube your chain. OK, I ran out to get the chain cleaner and the lube from my LBS. I have J-cloths. And yet I'm so scared that I'll do something wrong and mess up my good ride that I don't dare touch my chain. What if I over-lube? Under-clean? Wreck my chain? Oh my, the tales of woe that run through my head are endless! The one thing I do know is that for both cleaning and lubing I run the wheels backwards. They showed me that much at the store.

Any experienced riders out there with advice on chain management for a newbie? Thank you very much!
    2012 Specialized Dolce Elite
    Giant Cyclotron Mag II Trainer

Maybe google some chain cleaning vidoes? Lots of stuff on Youtube. And there are many articles on how to clean your bike.
    So long as the wheels are still turning, life is good.

Battswebb

Pinarello Quattro~CAADX~ Zurich Lemond
    Specialized Romin Saddles

Surly Krampus!

Cleaning and lubing the chain for the first time: what can go wrong?

You tube is good. Really, not much to screw up unless you use the wrong stuff. You have stuff from the shop. Go for it!
    2015 Liv Intrigue 2
    Pro Mongoose Titanium Singlespeed
    2012 Trek Madone 4.6 Compact SRAM

The main thing is not to spray water directly into the casset hub area and bottom bracket from the sides. Let it dribble from the top down, and don't use high pressure.