Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Almond butter

Almond butter

To disable ads, please log-in.

I have never tried almond butter before tonight. I expected it to taste similar to peanut butter, but the stuff I bought (all natural, no salt) has a wicked bitter after taste it and even smells kinda weird. Of course i had to test feed the hubby. Not knowing what i was giving him, he spit it out ....lol...he said it had a plastic after taste. It did come in a plastic jar, but I don't find it has a plastic taste, I find it has a bitter after taste. Is this normal? Maybe it's one of those foods that are an acquired taste?

I love almond butter. It's just too expensive for me to buy very often! What brand did you get?
    Speed comes from what you put behind you. - Judi Ketteler

I love almond butter too, I get it at the local co-op. I don't much like peanut butter. Could be a bad batch, could be that you just don't like it.
    Trek Madone 4.7 WSD
    Cannondale Quick4
    1969 Schwinn Collegiate, original owner
    Terry Classic

Richard Feynman: “The first principle is that you must not fool yourself and you are the easiest person to fool.”

One thing that occurred to me - just like whole nuts, nut butters made from roasted nuts have a very different flavor from butters made from raw nuts. Are you used to eating toasted almonds and bought raw butter, or vice versa?

Oak, good catch. I prefer the taste of roasted than to raw, but I like both. Some think raw is better for you, but I don't know. I only have had the stuff that you grind right there at the co-op so it is very fresh, if that makes a difference.
    Trek Madone 4.7 WSD
    Cannondale Quick4
    1969 Schwinn Collegiate, original owner
    Terry Classic