Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Introduction, new here from Seattle area

To disable ads, please log-in.

I've lurked here on and off for about a year and decided it's time to post! My name's Cathie and I'm 46 and live outside of Seattle with my husband and 2 kids 12 & 15. I started riding a year ago. Prior to that I had done one ride a year (Portland, OR Bridge Pedal; we always did the 14 mile option) with my family and some friends down there on my 10+ year old Walmart bike but NO other riding.

3 years ago I made a total change in my activity level. I had always watched my eating to keep relatively in shape and having a very FT job and being mom to 2 active kids made me think I was very active. I started using an activity monitor that I wear 24/7 and after the baseline period I had to face the fact that I was a couch potato! Once a mo or so of hiking or skiing just wasn't cutting it! The monitor gave me a 12 week plan of increasing my activity through very simple stuff like parking far away, taking the steps, going for a walk... It was a start, I then started running using couch to 5k and have kept that up for 3 years. I currently run about 15-20 miles a week.

A little over a year ago I started looking for a second thing to get into, tried swimming for a while but I hate being inside to exercise so I wanted to try
    biking. I had gotten rid of my Walmart bike at a garage sale and started looking at used bikes but not knowing what I really needed OR if I really wanted to spend a ton since I didn't know how into I'd get made it hard. I ended up with a Hybrid (http://ghybikes.com/2010/12/2011-raleigh-alysa-ft1/) for around $500 figuring if I did like cycling I could hand this down to my now 12 year old daughter.