Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling, triathlon & fitness apparel.

Hello! Introduction from a Noob はじめまして!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hello!
    I'm new to bike riding and new to this forum (although have lurked for some time) and thought that now is the time to introduce finally myself.
    I'm a 26 year old female who learned how to ride a bike for the first time 6 months ago. I moved to Japan for work about two years ago and after seeing how many people use bikes for transportation I thought, "hey, I should get one of those!" So I went to the store and bought a small little fold-able bike (very common in these parts). Only problem was that I had no idea how to ride a bike. Seriously, I could not even go in a straight line for one block. And living in a crowded city did not afford me much opportunity to learn to ride a bike. About 6 months ago, due to an unfortunate stalker situation, I forced myself to learn. I'd give myself extremely generous amounts of time to get around (45 minutes to go 1 mile!) until I got comfortable enough to ride around like a normal person. Now I never have to walk by myself at night, as I go everywhere by bike! I seriously love riding my bike to work and around the city on my days off. I don't own a car here and bike is the easiest (and most fun!) way to get around my city. I can't believe how much has changed in 6 months!