Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

how long to determine that a saddle is not right?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I am new to bicycling. Originally I was just going to use it to exercise dogs, but I enjoy it so much that I have been taking my folding bike to work every day and riding during my lunch break. Today I rode six miles in the park after work, and the seat was almost unbearable by the time I was done. It hurt worse when I took pressure OFF the seat!
    I have heard that you need to give it some time before making the determination that the saddle isn't right for you. I've only been riding regularly for 3 weeks. Do I need to give this stock saddle (velo) a longer period before I start looking for something else?
    thanks

Nope! I think 3 weeks is plenty long enough, if the thing hurts that bad. Does it always feel awful, or just the one time? It could need to be adjusted, but three weeks of torture sounds like plenty, to me. Depending on where it hurts, you could tilt it down slightly (or up, as the case may be), or slide it fore and aft.

Good luck!

Hmmm... Some aspects of fit require time to adjust to... but I would say if a saddle is killing you, it's not likely to get better. It doesn't take that much time to tell. Although you might try adjusting it a bit before making a final decision.

The one exception to this -- if it's your sit bones that are hurting and you haven't been riding for long, they'll "toughen up" after a while (I don't remember how long this takes -- a month maybe, maybe a bit less). But if it's other parts that are hurting, you shouldn't expect to adjust to the saddle.