Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Hello I'm new to sport

To disable ads, please log-in.

My name is Vanessa I'm 25 years old and I'm interesting in taking up cycling as a hobby. I'm shopping around for my first bike but don't know what to buy. Heres my specs' I'm 5" and 115lbs, with that height and weight what am i looking for as far as the size of the bike and spec's? I've looked online for help but they further confused me.

If I'm reading your post correctly, you're only 5' tall - that's very petite. Chances are you're going to be better fit on a WSD (Women's Specific Design) frame. These have shorter top tubes, proportionally, narrower handlebars, shorter cranks (sometimes), short-reach brake levers (sometime), etc. If you do a search in this forum on WSD, you'll find a lot of posts. You're probably going to want to try frames in the 43-44 cm range to begin with. It can be hard to find little frames like that to test ride, unfortunately, so you might have to call/visit many bike shops. Do try to test ride bikes, though; that's the only way of knowing which size and geometry suits you.

Just for comparison sake, I am 5'2.5" with a 28.5" inseam and ride a 44 or 46 cm frame. If you have a long inseam for your height, you might take as large a bike as a 47 cm WSD, but that's still smaller than the smallest standard "unisex" sized road bike. Those normally start at 48 cm. I don't know much about the newer "compact" frames, but I do know that they come in sizes like XS, S, M, L, etc, so you might fit an XXS or XS in a compact.

Welcome and good luck!
    Emily
    Emily

2011 Jamis Dakar XC "Toto" - Selle Italia Ldy Gel Flow
    2007 Trek Pilot 5.0 WSD "Gloria" - Selle Italia Diva Gel Flow
    2004 Bike Friday Petite Pocket Crusoe - Selle Italia Diva Gel Flow

thanks for the advice