Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

How to get more women into cycling

To disable ads, please log-in.

Fancy Schmancy Custom Road bike ~ Mondonico Futura Legero
    Found on side of the road bike ~ Motobecane Mixte
    Gravel bike ~ Salsa Vaya
    Favorite bike ~ Soma Buena Vista mixte
    Folder ~ Brompton
    N+1 ~ My seat on the Rover recumbent tandem
    https://www.instagram.com/pugsley_adventuredog/

It didn't really strike a chord with me. Obviously I would support ways to get women into biking, but the article just struck me as women need extra help BECAUSE we are women. I needed extra help because I was a BEGINNER!

I guess I was lucky because as a beginner, I found a great shop on my second try. The first shop was condescending, but I didn't think it was because I was a woman...more because I was not knowledgeable about bikes and they just have overall crappy cust svc. Second shop was great. I was also able to find some great beginner groups to join, that just so happened to be all women's. I would have gone to a co-ed beginner's group, but couldn't find a single one. How do beginner guys learn??

As for telling bike shops to stock more small bikes for women...umm, not all women are small I can't exactly walk into any shop and find bikes in my size to ride. (I prefer WSD which are not usually stocked in my size) Shops aren't going to stock a ton on either side of the norm, so this just goes with the territory of not being an average size (whether you are short or tall).
    And while I get that lots of women don't want to wear pink or purple clothes all the time, I would just be happy if they could make cycling clothing for women that matches how street clothing is sized.

Just read the facebook posts too....I see her frustration a bit more.