Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

RealRyder cycles ?!!

To disable ads, please log-in.

I checked out the cycling room at another YMCA in town and they had these

OMG I wasn't able to ride the thing! I didn't fall off but I was loopy! I kept looking for the lever to lock it in place I have only ridden true stationary bikes. What is the general consensus on these? Are they better at core strengthening? I am going to the only class they offer on Monday night to see how the instructors rides. I thought I would love it but I was so thrown off I felt like a needed some serious instruction.

RealRyder Indoor Cycle

Hi CDMama!
    Your post took me on a quick trip down memory lane... I'm an indoor cycling instructor based in Los Angeles, where RealRyder International is based. I was one of the first people to try the RealRyder Indoor Cycle when it first came out. Accustomed to teaching on a traditional stationary bike, I was one of those people who went through a bit of a learning curve -- and I recall feeling frustrated because I couldn't seem to stabilize the bike like other people around me. Looking back, as a instructor, I'm certain that my ego got the best of me. I blamed my apparent physical inadequacies on the bike! I mean, I KNEW I had a strong core, strong legs, strong joints... the bike was wild... I was strong!

Boy was I WRONG.