Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

New bike - mixed feelings

To disable ads, please log-in.

When you get a new bike, do you feel like you're cheating on your old one?

I ordered a hybrid around July 4th, hadn't been biking much in like 15 years, and my road bike seemed awfully wobbly, not enough gears, not stable enough (with me riding it) to pull the kids, so a hybrid seemed like the perfect choice.

Then I started riding the road bike while waiting for the hybrid to come in, put on about 90 miles in a few weeks, and loved the speed. I got the hybrid last weekend, and felt guilty when I took her out for a ride. Also, she seemed slow, but that improved a lot when I took her back to LBS for a fitting - we got her in a lower position and moved the saddle back almost as far as it would go, so that improved my pedal power.

The hybrid is super for towing the trail-a-bike, my son and I road 2.7 miles last night around our rolling neighborhood (talk about hill training!), and I got it all outfitted for our rainy weather so I can keep riding and not worry about it. But I sort of miss my old roadie - it was my first grown-up bike. My plan du jour is to ride the hybrid and get stronger, then hopefully the lack of gearing on the roadie won't bother me next season. After all, in just a few weeks, with you guys' help, I was able to get up my hill, so who knows how much progress I can make this year.

I think the hybrid is like the guy you've been married to for 20 years. Lovely, kind, helpful, reliable, steady, responsible. Good for the family. Good for you for the long haul. But the road bike is like your first love...all passion and emotion, much more exciting.

Will they mind if I love them both?