Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Steel road bikes, who has one?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm a newbie who's thinking of making the move up from an old hybrid to a road bike, and after doing some reading, I'm thinking of a steel bike. Does anyone have one they love that's in the sub-$1,000 category? I've been looking at the Raleigh Clubman, some of shops are offering the 2009 models at $950 or so, any thoughts?

I have no idea - steel vs aluminum vs carbon - it's all Greek to me.

But CONGRATULATIONS on your decision to move up to a road bike. I just did it and I'm in hog heaven.

Quote Originally Posted by Lisa Holman View Post
    I'm a newbie who's thinking of making the move up from an old hybrid to a road bike, and after doing some reading, I'm thinking of a steel bike. Does anyone have one they love that's in the sub-$1,000 category? I've been looking at the Raleigh Clubman, some of shops are offering the 2009 models at $950 or so, any thoughts?
    look into the jamises... jamis aurora and a few others.

I have one, but it's custom, so it's above your 1K threshold. I Love steel though.
    I like Bikes - Mimi
    Watercolor Blog

Davidson Custom Bike - Cavaletta
    Dahon 2009 Sport - Luna
    Old Raleigh Mixte - Mitzi

Thanks for posting this. I just upgraded my aluminum frame to steel (identical geometry). The new frame arrives in a month, and my fingers are crossed that it was worth the expense! I am attracted to the durability of steel. My husband's mountain bike frame cracked after 20 years, and it was just a matter of welding it back together. And he's good to go for another 20 years! My aluminum frame cracked (it was just 2 years old, less than 1,000 miles!), which has soured me on that material, a bit.

I've also heard the ride is great, especially over longer distances.