Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

No energy after longer bike rides

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi,

I'm new to biking and have been building up my distance over the past two months. I've been biking about 3 times a week and increase my distance by a few miles each week.

It seems anytime I bike 15 miles or more (max so far has been 20), about a hour after the ride I have no energy. A wave of exhaustion comes over me and I end up having to take a nap and it takes me several hours to recover.

If I ride in the morning, I eat a bowl of cereal, toast, juice and some fruit. During the ride I drink water mixed with Gatorade. I also bring along a energy bar to have during the ride if I feel hungry. After the ride I will have some water and eat a meal. What am I doing wrong? I really like biking and feel ok when riding to go farther, but I'm worried that I'm not getting the right amount of something to feel so exhausted when I'm done.

Any suggestions or ideas would be great! Thanks in advance

How long does it take you to ride 20 miles? How many ozs of fluid are you taking in?

I would guess you need to eat and drink more. I'm a big advocate of protein before riding. Otherwise, you need more for breakfast. I would also plan a snack stop, instead of just eating if you feel hungry. Sometimes, I get distracted and forget to eat--then I'm ravenous. I also love a post-ride smoothie.

Dehydration is a common cause of fatigue.
    "Well-behaved women seldom make history." --Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

'09 Trek WSD 2.1 with a Brooks B-68 saddle
    '11 Trek WSD Madone 5.2 with Brooks B-17

book

Another idea would be to read Nancy Clark's Sports nutrition guide-there may be more tips there for you.