Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bunny Hopping Road Bikes?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I want to be like the cool kids in my Monday Night Ride, and hop my bike over the potholes!

Please teach me!

Looking at all the love there that's sleeping
    2007 Seven ID8 - Bontrager InForm
    2003 Klein Palomino - Terry Firefly (?)
    2010 Seven Cafe Racer - Bontrager InForm
    2008 Cervelo P2C - Adamo Prologue Saddle

Do you ride clipless? then you can. try it over speedbumps.
    It's a little secret you didn't know about us women. We're all closet Visigoths.

2008 Roy Hinnen O2 - Selle SMP Glider
    2009 Cube Axial WLS - Selle SMP Glider
    2007 Gary Fisher HiFi Plus - Specialized Alias

When I started riding, I had the hardest time figuring out how to do this. Then suddenly the epiphany: get your butt off the saddle!!! Duh. Once you figure it out, it's pretty easy.
    Sarah

When it's easy, ride hard; when it's hard, ride easy.

2011 Volagi Liscio
    2010 Pegoretti Love #3 "Manovelo"
    2011 Mercian Vincitore Special
    2003 Eddy Merckx Team SC - stolen
    2001 Colnago Ovalmaster Stars and Stripes

Between the Blue Ridge and the Chesapeake Bay
    I love bunnyhopping. I stared out in BMX in the 70s, so it just comes naturally to me, but I can't do curbs. Never could do curbs.

think of your body as a spring.

try this:

stand up rigid (not on the bike) and try to jump. not much vertical, eh?

now, bend at the ankles, knees, and hips, and think of yourself as a coiled spring. now jump. what happens? much more vertical.

you need to do the same thing on the bike. coil down to bunny hop. keep your center of gravity over the bottom bracket. make adjustments if needed (ie front or rear lifts or lands more).

and, of course, don't look down at your bike -- look ahead where you want to go.