Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Smile New to cycling and loving it!!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi I am a 45 year woman in average to poor shape (lol). I am new to cycling and I believe I have found a sport that I truely love!! I am going to attempt to do the Shiner Gasp this year. I guess I will know for sure then if I am truely hooked to cycling!!! I have started training about a month ago with my sister, friend and her husband. So far it has been allot of fun. We have gone on rides on 360 and in the great hills area, and even some rides out in Port Aransas to prepare for the Shiner Gasp. Any feedback on what I should expect on the shiner gasp as a newbie would really be appreciated.

The Shiner GASP is a great ride, I did it last year and might do it this year. It is a big ride so you will have lots of company and the support is great. Expect a headwind to Shiner, sorry it is the truth this time of year. The course is mostly rolling hills, if you are riding 360 they will not be anything to be worried about at all. Roads are generally pretty good, although I remember one fairly long section of chip seal.

My number one piece of advice- plenty of time in the saddle. Last year I had been really busy and logged a low number of miles, the ride was way harder than it should have been.
    Amanda

2011 Specialized Epic Comp 29er | Specialized Phenom | "Marie Laveau"
    2007 Cannondale Synapse Carbon Road | Selle Italia Lady Gel Flow | "Miranda"

You don't have to be great to get started, but you do have to get started to be great. -Lee J. Colan

Thanks Amanda I will keep that in mind!!. We are hoping to log a couple of long rides now up until the ride. I figured I would need to do that if anything to get used to being in the saddle for long periods of time. Do you know what the average time it takes to get to Shiner?