Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Anybody traveled to Africa?

To disable ads, please log-in.

One of my oldest friends and I made a pact two years ago that we'd celebrate our respective 40th birthdays by going on a safari to Africa. Well, it's still about two years away (I turn 40 in 9/09; she in 1/10 and we're planning to go on the trip in 2/10), but I've already started my research. I love, love, love planning my trips (I was a tour operator with OCD in a past life) and, well, work is slow right now.

Of course, it's not just up to me, but I'd like to take an active safari (one that involves some daily hiking in the very least) to Tanzania. I'm still open to other countries, e.g., Botswana, but Tanzania offers all I'd want to see, for slightly less money than other destinations. Plus, it's politically stable. That's a big "plus."

Anyway, I'm already really excited. Have any TEers been to Africa? I'd love to hear your suggestions and impressions.

Thanks!
    Live with intention. Walk to the edge. Listen hard. Practice wellness. Play with abandon. Laugh. Choose with no regret. Continue to learn. Appreciate your friends. Do what you love. Live as if this is all there is.

--Mary Anne Radmacher

My mom and I went to Zimbabwe and Botswana in '95. Best vacation of my life. I had friends in Zimbabwe (who have since fled to France) and stayed with them in Harare for a few days, then several days each in different safari camps around the two countries.
    I highly recommend the Okavango Delta in Botswana. We spent hours looking at lions from very close by and even walked near Elephants.