Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

what to wear in 40 degree temps????

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm a newbie, just starting out, I live in Michigan. What type of clothing should I be wearing when temperatures are in the 40s? Right now I don't have any cycling clothing, just sweats, nylon warm up pants, some fleece shirts, jackets. What should I be purchasing first? Thank you

Look on TE for winter tights. Wear your cycling knickers or shorts under the tights for another layer. If the temp goes into the 30s, wear long thermal underwear as the first layer, the kind designed for cross-sports such as skiing.

For the top, start with a long-sleeve jersey for winter wear - your choice. If it is raining, wear a cycling rain coat. If it isn't, wear a cycling zip jacket. If the temperature is in the 30s, add a thermal top as the first layer.

Wear wool socks, with maybe another layer of thin socks underneath, depending on what you can squeeze into your shoes.

For cycling gloves, get the all-winter full finger gloves with water and wind protection, such as Pearl Izumi.

Then when the temps warm up, wear a short sleeve jersey with your shorts or knickers. When the temps get higher as the summer progresses, wear a sleeveless jersey with the shorts, and put away the knickers until autumn.

Darcy

Riding my Luna & Rivendell in the Hudson Valley, NY
    Quote Originally Posted by surgtech1956 View Post
    I'm a newbie, just starting out, I live in Michigan. What type of clothing should I be wearing when temperatures are in the 40s? Right now I don't have any cycling clothing, just sweats, nylon warm up pants, some fleece shirts, jackets. What should I be purchasing first? Thank you