Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

heart monitor recommendations?

To disable ads, please log-in.

hello!
    i'm new to road biking and really excited and thrilled to have found this wonderful group. i'm thinking of investing in a hrm to get more out of my workouts. i run too. any suggestions? thanks.
    "To men, rich or poor, the bicycle is an unmixed blessing, but to women, it is deliverance, revolution, salvation." Mrs. Reginald de Koven, 1895

I really like the Polar S710. It gives you speed,distance, max speed, avg. speed, altitude, temperature, calories burned in addition to heart rate. The stored info can then be downloaded to your computer via an Infrared reader. The computer adds up your mileage, calories, number of exercises and time on a weekly basis.

I wear it for every workout I do, weights, spin, Spinervals tapes, swimming, the occassional step class. The lap counter has a large button that's very handy when swimming for interval work.

Veronica

thanks, the s710 sounds like a contender. i've heard these have to be sent back to the factory to have the batteries replaced, is that true and how big of a pain in the butt is it?
    "To men, rich or poor, the bicycle is an unmixed blessing, but to women, it is deliverance, revolution, salvation." Mrs. Reginald de Koven, 1895

I've had mine for over two years and haven't had to send it in yet.

Veronica

either factory, or a GOOD watch repair shop.. not the ones at Kmart or similar. My good pal just had her wristwatch portion of her HRM destroyed ( "oops") as Shopko. I had my same done by the local professional watch shop and it was fine.