Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: Newbie Here...

Red face Newbie Here...

To disable ads, please log-in.

Just wanted yo say hi to everyone. I have been reading the threads on here for amout 2 weeks now DH and I just purchased our first bikes last weekend so yesterday was out first real ride. We rode 40 miles... way too much for out first outing but we made it.. even got my first fall out of the way... have nice front gear puncher marks across the front of my leg.. will leave a nice scar I'm sure

Again just wanted to say hi.. everyone has so much great advice on here!! Thanks

Welcome! Wow; 40 miles your first time out? The fact that you made it is impressive. You must be pretty fit as it is. Still, I'd suggest dialing it back just a bit as your body needs some time to adapt to riding and the bike position. Otherwise, you might be setting yourself up for an overuse injury. Be sure to eat and drink enough, especially as the weather gets warmer. There are lots of threads on the subject.
    Live with intention. Walk to the edge. Listen hard. Practice wellness. Play with abandon. Laugh. Choose with no regret. Continue to learn. Appreciate your friends. Do what you love. Live as if this is all there is.

--Mary Anne Radmacher

Welcome, BreezieD. I like your user name.

Yes, WOWZERS on 40 miles for your first ride! And, yes, you must already be reasonably fit.