Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question San Diego Newbie! Chafing Question??

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi All!

I'm a newbie in San Diego! Just picked up my Jamis Xenith Comp Femme (hubby got a Comp too)

I'm sure this question has been asked a million times!! We've been on a couple rides...not super long distances, about 10 miles. I do have the correct bike shorts and am not wearing underwear, but I am getting chafing/raw/bleeding in my soft tissue . I had the bike professionally fit to me and am being aware of my body position while riding.

Is there extra padding I should get? Should I consider getting a different saddle? Any other ideas?

Thanks so much!!
    Last edited by drewkari; 09-17-2008 at 07:05 PM.

You should not be having those problems. Do you have a good chamois in your shorts? Use lubricant like Chamois Butt'r or several others on the market. Also, you can use some over-the-counter antibiotic ointment like Bacitracin together with Chamois Butt'r. The most important thing is you probably need a saddle with a cutout.

Good Saddle?

Quote Originally Posted by Ninabike View Post
    The most important thing is you probably need a saddle with a cutout.
    Do you have one that you recommend?

This has been mentioned before in similar threads, but either shaving or a close trim can also help. I notice a huge reduction in chafing when I *ahem* mow the lawn. If your condition is as severe as it sounds, that could also assist with treating and healing, in that it could help to reduce sweat and bacteria in that area.