Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Ouch! still having foot pain. Need advise!

To disable ads, please log-in.

I really need some advise from fellow runners! I have been a long distance runner for 5 years and long distance road biker. Last December I had a neuroma removed from my right foot. I recovered just fine and with my MD's approval started using ny bike trainer and minimal run walking. I am a nurse so I know the rules to not set yourself back on recovery. This spring I started running short distances 2-3 miles and really spent my summer road biking. I started feeling some discomfort after comleting the STP and than adding in my running again. I started having the same pain of "feeling like there is a rock on the bottom of my foot" but also pain at my toes (2-3) and swelling. Walking barefoot in the house is painful. So I made an appointment with my foot surgeon and he said scare tissue had developed and gave me a shot of cortisone with a follow up appointment scheduled in 2 more weeks. I ran 7 miles and again had severe pain from 5-7 miles. Ended up run walking the last 2 miles. I am so frustrated!! Has anyone else dealt with this? Are my running days over?
    Anita "Shiraz"

See if you can get in to a PT who does myofascial and scar release. I've had good results with that.

Also maybe look into adding met head buttons to your orthotics. They can help reduce the stress in the met arch, which helps lower the build up of collagen in the scarred area.

You will always have scarring, but you can increase the elasticity of the scar so it won't duplicate the original symptoms.

Do you have a dropped 2nd met head?

Go back to doing your exercises from the PT after the neuroma surgery. The intrinsic muscles you built up during therapy status post may have weakened again.
    Last edited by KnottedYet; 09-02-2006 at 07:53 AM.