Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bicycle-related expenditures for the year

To disable ads, please log-in.

As some of you know, I started riding again this May after being off the bike for a couple of years. The good news is that I already had the bikes and most of the necessary equipment to start riding again. However, it's always fun to go shopping, so the $$ have been racking up over the past couple of months.

Here's my "Mastercard ad" for recent bike related expenditures:

1. Custom hitch for car. $ I'm pretty embarrassed about how much I paid for this, but on the other hand, it was the catalyst for me to get riding again, so I guess that makes it "priceless."

2. BVG Hitch rack. $200.

3. Glue for patch kit. A must have, since the other glue had long since dried up. $3

4. New jerseys. $90.

5. New pairs of bike shorts. $80.

6. Replacement Look cleats. $15.

7. Krebs bike map. $12.

8. Bike-related books. $50.

9. Brooks saddle + shipping. $75

10. New tubes. $15.

11. Heart rate monitor. $60.

12. Tune up. $50.

13. Pedals just in case the Bianchi becomes a commuter bike. $35.

14. Being able to bring the bike with me so I can ride with my Dad. Priceless.

Whoo, I've racked up $1500! No DH to have to explain this to, so that's good. Good thing I got a couple of employee referral bonuses!

-- Melissa

where the wind comes sweeping down the plain
    It definitely adds up quickly, but if it gets you out there on your bike again- then it's all worth it! And not having anyone to "answer to" per se- even better.
    Have fun riding (with and without Dad).
    Check out my running blog: www.turtlepacing.blogspot.com

Cervelo P2C (tri bike)
    Bianchi Eros (commuter/touring road bike)

1983 Motobecane mixte (commuter/errand bike)
    Cannondale F5 mountain bike