Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Need advice on commuting to work

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi - I am one of the lucky ones that live within a commutable biking distance from work (about 5 miles each way)- and plan to start riding to work after some practice riding my new road bike (I am picking her up today).
    However, since I am new to cycling and this will be my first road bike - I am nervous about having to carry too much on my back while riding.

I am also a sweater (and I don't mean the wool or cashmere kind) which makes me wonder about how gross I might be by the time I get to work. The New Jersey area gets pretty hot and humid.

I do not consider myself a primadonna by any means, but I do like to look decent - I wear a little makeup - and I work in the Marketing Dept of a Pharmaceutical Company, so I can't wear shorts or anything.

I would love to hear tips or regimines that you all use. My office building has a small shower downstairs in a ladies locker room, but since it (the gym and locker room) is owned by the building (and we are a tenant) we are not allowed to keep locks on the lockers overnight (to keep soap, etc).
    I also have long hair, so a quick shower and blow dry isn't always feasable.
    UGGGGHH - there's got to be a solution.
    Don't wanna be stinky!!
    cheri