Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: nOOb in nEEd!

Talking nOOb in nEEd!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi Ladies! As the title suggests...I am a noob in need. I posted on a local forum but after a month of waiting on a helpful response, I have given up hope.

Here is what I posted there:
    Ok, I'm new to this. I've barely done any cycling except when I broke my ankle & wasn't able to run...feeling like a lazy slob I borrowed a friends road bike for a bit. Fun...I admit!
    I'd like to get something fairly cheap just so if I hate it, I haven't wasted a ton of money. I'm thinking the 200-300 range. According to my local bike shop I need a 15. I'm 5'7" & 135lbs.

I've done a bit of snooping around here & you ladies seem so sweet & helpful. I've been wanting to get into cycling for a number of reasons...1 being the price of gas...and 2 being that running is really starting to hurt my knees & ankles. I just can't get my mileage in like I used to be able to. Gettin old & all.

Hope to get to know some of you...
    D

Afterthought:
    I hope it was ok to post here looking for a used bike? I apologize if it's inappropriate. I would really love suggestions for a decent, cheap starter bike...I can look elsewhere for the actual bike!
    Last edited by Diggles; 06-13-2006 at 11:32 AM.

Quick Question:

Do you specifically want a ROAD bike or are you asking about a bike in general??

The only kind of riding I've done is on a road bike. Although I'm open to suggestions. I think I would be too nervous to try to get on trails since I can barely even balance.

*This is so embarrassing*

If you want a road bike... it's going to be hard to find a new one for under $500-$600.