Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Training for Century, need to know how to use HR Manitor

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi all,

I am pretty new to cycling, started last summer. This year my goal is to complete a century ride in August. It will be a flat ride with one long hill towards the end. Reading articles about centuries I came across the importance of HR manitors, so I went and bought one. So, I was wondering if any of you who use heart rate manitors can share the info on how you use them. In what % of MHR do you train, and actually try to ride the century in. Your info will be appreciated as always Thanks

Good work on getting an HR monitor. It is a great training tool. Do you do spin classes at a gym by any chance? Sometimes the instructor will tell you how much time you should spent at what % of your maximum. I think the rough forumla for max heartrate is 226 minus your age. Do a search on the net and you should turn up some suggestions for building a training program. I've used my monitor for almost 2 years and love it.

I agree - there are a lot of good books out there which can give you training programs. Most of your riding should be done at an endurance pace - I believe, but am not certain, that this is about your 80% of max level.

I think Veronica trains with a HRM and when she gets back from her trip she can probably give some pointers. I gave up the HRM years ago and haven't looked back!
    Sarah

When it's easy, ride hard; when it's hard, ride easy.

2011 Volagi Liscio
    2010 Pegoretti Love #3 "Manovelo"
    2011 Mercian Vincitore Special
    2003 Eddy Merckx Team SC - stolen
    2001 Colnago Ovalmaster Stars and Stripes

Heart Rate Book

"Sally Edwards' Heart Zone Training: Exercise Smart, Stay Fit and Live Longer"