Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Specialized Vita Comp Carbon vs Giant Thrive Comax 2 or ????

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi Everybody,

I'm not a newbie, been riding my steel 2009 Jamis Coda Comp very happily to work, errands, camping, you name it, it carries everything. And without any packs on it with its current setup it weighs in at 31 lbs (OK, there was half a water bottle). And it is tough to keep up with my buddies on the long weekend rides.

So I'm thinking it's time to pull on my big girl bike shorts, master clipless pedals (ack!) and get a different bike for those longer group rides. Anybody have any thoughts on the

Specialized Vita Comp Carbon

or

the Giant (from their Liv line) Thrive Comax 2

I'm open to other ideas as well. Thanks in advance for any input!

Marcy

Hi Marcy

Are you set on staying with a flat bar bike or would you consider a drop bar bike? For long rides on pavement, I use drop bar bikes, exclusively. Drop bars offer a lot of advantages, one being all the various hand positions possible. By alternating between all the available positions, really helps me to reduce fatigue on long rides, not just in my hands and arms, but my back and so on. Another is being able to drop down and reduce my silhouette when fighting the wind. This can save me a couple of gears compared to a flat bar bike. Really noticeable in a stiff headwind. Being upright with a flat bar bike is comfy, for sure, but if you'e trying to keep up with a bunch of hardcore roadies on their fast drop bar bikes, you'll be at a disadvantage. Drop bar road bikes are more efficient for long miles on pavement. Not a deal breaker, by any means, but something to consider.