Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lightbulb If you had a fairy godmother when you started riding...

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm looking for the challenges that everyone has overcome with learning to ride, especially with commute...

A little background - I started riding in college, first for tri's and general riding, then commuting, and now I'm about 90% on my bike (accept when I'm hauling my bike to go ride it elsewhere - go figure ).

I know logistics are always problems, learning how to deal with cars, to shower or not to shower, etc.

What are unique challenges that you've faced? And more importantly, how did you overcome them??

Thanks in advance!

i wouldn't call commuting a challenge but rather a learning journey on how to do it well.

When considering my commuting route I pick the most pleasant low traffic route possible. I can do a bike path, some alleys and low volume streets on my commute and that makes for a more relaxed ride and no sweat on my morning ride. I use the ride home for more of a hard ride including some hills that I usually avoid in the morning. I have a messenger bag and waterproof panniers to use depending on what’s needed for work and perhaps groceries etc on the way home.

One tip I’ve learned if sweaty is to cool down while drinking some water until I am not perspiring much before I use wipes, facial cleanser, toner, oil free moisturizer, deodorant, a natural bristle brush etc. makeup and clothes change. Burning Man, with its 100+ degree temps, lots of dust and limited shower access taught me how useful baby wipes are… If my hair is a little sweaty on a hot day I reverse the part, fluff it and put it into a top knot until the sweat evaporates then brush if I don’t want it in a top knot for the day.