Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Hi all, total newbie here!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi, I'm Rumbly, I'm 44 and totally out of shape, a US size 12 and haven't ridden a bike since I was about 12. I'm married to a cycle nut. This will probably explain why we've just signed up to cycle 400 miles across Vietnam and Cambodia to raise money for Pancreatic Cancer UK in memory of my Mum, in November 2016. We are going out to buy a bike for me next week and the panic has not yet set in! I'm reading everything I can, but would love to hear from some other curvy ladies who cycle, or anyone who has got on a bike from totally unfit novice and is doing well!
    I live in Lincolnshire, UK. I expect there will be many, many questions over the next months!

Welcome.

I've always did some type of gym throughout my life but not much of cycling (but for a ride now and then). Hubby is a bike nut too so I got into it for fun.

It helped me lose 12 pounds over a year (probably your size too) and I feel better. Still would like another 10-12 pounds by next summer and I'd be ok. At 52 I'm not asking much more.

400 miles is a lot of cycling depending on how many days it will be. The most I did in one day is 115km and it is plenty. Not being a "summer" type person, I hate too much heat. I perform better in cooler weather but it is what it is and we need to ride when we can.

Good luck in this very nice project. With a good training program you can do it. It won't be easy but doable.

It would be good if you could find someone that could build you a training program like my physiotherapist/kinesiologis does for me. It helps me reach the goals I have. Cycling is a whole and you need just as much cardio as you need to build muscles to help you push those hills/distances.

Have fun!
    Helene