Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: New here!

New here!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi, I'm Kristine and my dh has been cycling the last 6 years and has a custom road bike. I've got a mountain bike right now that I just started riding a few miles yesterday (had it since college 20 years ago and rode off and on the last few years.) We did look at bikes at the LBS last week, but really can't afford anything yet and he doesn't want to spend the money until he knows I'll cycle. My biggest fear is that I had a SCAD (spontaneous coronary Artery dissection) heart atatck just under 3 years ago and have 2 stints in my left circumflex artery. Normal roads are fine, but when I do hills, I really get winded and know my heart is working a lot harder. When I had the SCAD, I was in the best shape of my life and had been doing heavy lifting, which was not "confirmed" as the reason it happened, but in my mind, I'm pretty sure it was." It's still a little scary to know what I can handle. A few of the bikes I looked at are Lexa, Lexa S C & Giant Avail. I did not test ride any of them yet. Honestly I am just getting used to switching gears on my Mountain Bike & really don't have a clue what I'm doing there. Anyway, I hope to learn a lot from you ladies.

Kristine

Why don't you go to your cardiologist and find out if there are any protocols you need to follow?