Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Entry Level Bike Recommendations - Mile 0

To disable ads, please log-in.

What would you recommend for an entry level bike for a beginning cyclist who is starting from Mile 0 as far as fitness and stamina?

For a woman starting out who is not fit, and not able to spend a lot of money (a LOT less than $300), and who has never been in a real bike shop, what is your recommendation? I know mine will be "test ride at at least 3 local bike shops, ask questions, ask about discounts on last year's model, and get a proper fit."

Is there a make and model, very basic, very economical, that you would recommend to an absolute beginner who has been almost completely sedentary?

Should friends never let friends buy bikes alone?

------------------------------------
    I feel like I let a friend down Saturday, because I told her she'd probably need a new bike for a charity ride we're doing in June. Her old Schwinn had been in her parents' garage for 20 years, and would probably have needed new tires and tubes. I tried to get her to take the old bike in to a LBS to have it checked over but she didn't get it done by the weekend. She's not fit (yet), and like me she's diabetic and would really benefit from the exercise.

We were to meet for a practice ride Saturday, and I told her not to worry about bringing her old bike, she could ride my n+1 bike, a Specialized women's Crossroads.

To my surprise she showed up with a new bike that she had bought that morning at Target.

It's pink, it has only 7 speeds, and has no mounting points for water bottles. My male cycling friends (both gearheads) stated she needed to take it back. But my female cycling pal and I aren't so sure - it's lighter than expected, and the point here is to get her moving.