Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

help - painful bump/cyst in groin from saddle :(

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi

Im fairly new to biking and am having the same problem with both my road and mtb. After a ride my groin on one side is sore and over 24h a large painful lump appears under the skin which takes about a week to go. Im training for a tri and this is impacting how much biking i can do. I assume this is some internal injury from saddle rub. How can I prevent it from happening? I already wear cycle short but they are fairly cheap ones. Ive tried wearing 2 pairs which helped a lot but with summer on the way im going to get hot.

I think what i have is a saddle sore but its not an abrasion on the skin, my skin is fine, this is internal beneath the skin and feels like a cyst - a 2 or 3 cm swelling.

All advice welcome. Thanks

Try doing a search on "cyst" and possibly also one on "saddle sores." There have been a few threads on the topic over the years, with various treatments and preventive measures. I think some folks have used a product called Lamosil (not sure of the spelling) during bike rides to help with saddle sores.

- Gray 2010 carbon WSD road bike, Rivet Independence saddle
    - Red hardtail 26" aluminum mountain bike, Bontrager Evoke WSD saddle
    - Royal blue 2018 aluminum gravel bike, Rivet Pearl saddle

Gone but not forgotten:
    - Silver 2003 aluminum road bike
    - Two awesome worn out Juliana saddles

I think it's called a Bartholin's cyst. That might help your search. It's not something I've had trouble with, so I can't really offer any suggestions, but I'm pretty sure there are women still on here who've had issues with them in the past. Hopefully one of them will chime in. Good luck and welcome to TE!
    Speed comes from what you put behind you. - Judi Ketteler