Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Hybrid View

Unhappy Painful lady bits - any suggestions please!

Hi. I started riding again after a 10 year absence. I have 2 great bikes (my husband is already a keen road and mountain biker) but I am finding it difficult to really enjoy my riding because of the issue with my lady bits. I have padded shorts but am still getting cysts and chafing whenever I ride. I really want to solve this as it's getting in the way of my enjoyment and I am dreading getting on my bikes. I want to get fit but I want to enjoy it as well.

Is this just me or has anyone else experienced this? Any suggestions about saddles, shorts or shields (?) would be really welcome so that I can truly be HappyAnn!

Current road bike is a Merida Juliet racing bike (2014) with the saddle that came with it. The issue is not so great with the mountain bike as you don't sit hard for so long. It's tough on the road bike with the long uphill slogs.

numerous, numerous threads here with great suggestions, use the search tool. You can probably even use the words "lady bits"
    Sky King
    biketouringnews.com

Most days in life don't stand out, But life's about those days that will...

As noted, there are many, many threads on this topic. A summary of advice:
    - Make sure the bike is set up correctly. Especially make sure that the saddle isn't too high, as that can cause chafing as your pelvis rotates around the saddle. (Your toes should not be pointing downward at the bottom of the pedal stroke.)
    - You may have to try several saddles, and the one that came with the bike isn't necessarily the best one for you.
    - Try to find a shop that will either have test saddles to take home or will take back a saddle within a set period of time if it doesn't work out.