Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Internal hub or derailleur for beach bike?

To disable ads, please log-in.

Looking at something like an Electra Townie to run to the beach, and was wondering if the internal hub 3-speed would be a better choice than a derailleur? My best guess is the internal hub, but I'm not a bike mechanic and don't know how well sealed the internal hub is... or is it just a way to pack sand in with no good way to clean it?

Thoughts?

Electra Townie 7D

Decided on the 7d with a derailleur. Talked to a bike mechanic buddy and we agreed that having the parts out where I could keep them clean and lubed was a better choice.

I'll wait til we're down at the condo over xmas and buy from the new LBS.

Electra Townie 7D

Areas of beach bike path here will be covered in sand after strong winds or a storm and stay that way for a few days. I’ve never had a sand problem with the nexus hub on my commuter and I ride the beach path a lot on it. i do quickly clean the chain on both the commuter and my fixie when i get home after riding in sand…..I spend more time cleaning my seven’s drive train after riding on the occasional sandy areas on the path.

For no problems and very little maintenance with riding in a sandy area I’d definitely go with a coaster brake nexus hub and a gates carbon belt drive system.

that townie has a great cruiser look!!!!
    ‘The negative feelings we all have can be addictive…just as the positive…it’s up to
    us to decide which ones we want to choose and feed”… Pema Chodron

Haven't had a cruiser style bike since before they were called that. Looking forward to it for my daily beach runner.

Electra Townie 7D

I'm going for the very difficult choice of color now! Usually I'm going for better components, lighter weight, not so much how pretty can I make it? . I'm thinking coral!!