Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Trading in a base Dolce for a base Ruby

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi,

I was thinking about upgrading my bike next year, but when I saw that my bike shop was having sales now I decided to check them out yesterday.

I have been riding the base model Dolce Compact for almost 2 years now. Since it was raining and he was nice he let me take a base 2013 Ruby Compact for today. I have an 85-mile ride planned for today so we shall see how it goes. They set up the bike with all my bike fit specifications.

Now, let's say I like it, or even love it. Here's the deal: it was normally listed at $1750 in 2013. He is currently selling it for $1400 and says he can't do better than that 20% because he "only makes 30% on bikes" (which I find really hard to believe). Either way, how good of a deal is this? The other part is that I am looking to trade in the Dolce and he won't tell me how much he'll give me for it. He obviously wants me to ride the ruby and love it and then pay whatever for the ruby (I told him as much and he didn't deny it). I can take the Dolce down the street to a very good used bike shop and get a good deal on it for consignment if I need to.

The bike has Sora components and is a 9speed I believe. I am coming from shimano 2300 and 8 speed.

You might want to rethink a bike with Sora. I think you can find something with 105.
    2015 Trek Silque SSL
    Specialized Oura

2011 Guru Praemio
    Specialized Oura
    2017 Specialized Ariel Sport

This is the type of grid for a used bike someone did and is pretty accurate for Canada. Don't know for USA but should be comparable.