Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Hello from Maine

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to the roadie scene. I have a hybrid that I've been riding for several years mostly on bike paths and areas with no cars because I was scared to death to ride anywhere near a moving vehicle. When the 3-5 mile rides got to be t0o easy I started thinking "you'd have a lot more opportunities if you would ride on the road" so I started on roads with less traffic and have been riding 10-14 miles. Last year I had an urge to become a "real cyclist" so while on vacation in Vermont I rented a road bike for the day. Let's just say, when I passed my husband ON A HILL! I was HOOKED! I bought my first road bike this past October, a Jamis Ventura Comp and I love it. I'm thrilled to find this forum with all women cyclists. I had joined another forum and it was mostly men. It's OK but I wouldn't ask them about "sensitive" issues! lol I'm taking (and loving) spin classes at my local gym to get me ready for the road and I can't wait. I have to ask though, is it normal to think about cycling constantly and spend all your time online looking at bikes and gear? Guess I have to do something to pass the time during this miserable winter. THINK SPRING!

yeah, there are a few of us that can relate to that (the obsessing about bike stuff, not the snow)
    welcome to TE
    I like Bikes - Mimi
    Watercolor Blog

Davidson Custom Bike - Cavaletta
    Dahon 2009 Sport - Luna
    Old Raleigh Mixte - Mitzi

Welcome and happy riding into Spring (when it comes to you!) ~ a fellow bike obsessor!
    2011 Specialized Ruby Comp, Specialized BG Lithia w/ hollow Cr-Mo rails
    2009 Specialized Myka FSR, Specialized Windie 143

It seems normal to me.

I also like to spend my free time plotting new routes to ride on ridewithgps.com.

Welcome aboard.