Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

help with my seat/ saddle/ grips... need advice

To disable ads, please log-in.

I have a scott hybrid I bought from a bike shop long before I moved out of state. It was my first bike and I wanted to ride to take the pressure off my knees and be able to get some cardio. Fast forward two years of not riding to today.
    I started riding 6 days a week almost 4 months ago. Was riding 30-45 mins a day most of the time until this month. I have been riding one hour to 2 hour rides. My max has been 16 miles, but normally ride around 10 miles. I am 6'2 and 320lbs. I went to a new bike shop in my new state and the owner was not very friendly concerning my size, so I am needing help. I get intense pain in my crotch after rides longer than an hour. When I bought my bike before I had no intention of falling in love with cycling and got the biggest most cushioned seat possible. Found this website and wondered if anyone could guide me about what to do... Also the palms of my hands ACHE... I called a bike shop and they said I might need to change my grips?
    Am I hurting because of how heavy I am and it will go away in time or do I need a different seat/ grips due to the longer rides?

Thank you for any help anyone could give me... I really appreciate your time

Quote Originally Posted by Kati View Post
    I have a scott hybrid I bought from a bike shop long before I moved out of state. It was my first bike and I wanted to ride to take the pressure off my knees and be able to get some cardio. Fast forward two years of not riding to today.