Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Question online job application?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I'm applying for a new job (gulp!) with a large company that uses an online application and submission tool. I'm not that old, but old enough and in my current job long enough that I've never had to use one of these tools. So I have questions...

1) How does one address and format (hard copy vs. email) a cover letter in this situation? I don't have a hiring manager's name, just a company name and the specific location they're hiring for. It looks like they're expecting a cover letter as part of the "attachments" section.

2) Am I supposed to attach references and even a transcript at this stage? Seems like jumping the gun to me, but again, I'm new to this type of hiring process.

Any other bits of advice? If past experience is any indicator, this job will be posted for another day or two, so I need to get cracking! Many thanks in advance for your help.

Read the job posting carefully! They pull resumes through a computer system and you have to match up a certain amount of words in your resume/cover letter with what they have posted normally.

This means tailoring your resume to their posting.

Normally there is a spot for a cover letter- either put into a text field or an upload. No need to add transcripts, just attach/fill out what they ask for(again tailoring to what they have posted in the job description for best chances of your resume getting pulled)

Quote Originally Posted by ehirsch83 View Post
    Read the job posting carefully! They pull resumes through a computer system and you have to match up a certain amount of words in your resume/cover letter with what they have posted normally.