Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Going completely mad trying to choose a bike - PLEASE HELP!

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hi all, newbie here from London, thanks for reading

I'm stuck in the (long and painful) process of trying to buy a new bike. I've been researching and test riding for months and I just can't seem to find the perfect one that is the right balance of price, weight, fit, and looks nice too! I know all the staff in my local bike shop by name and I think they think I am a bit tedious now! So any help and advice you can give me would be much appreciated!

I'm looking for a hybrid / flat bar road bike, mostly for commuting and quick trips to the supermarket but also for fun bike rides and exercise when the weather is nice. My old bike (which was stolen) was a steel ladies step-through, incredibly heavy, and a real effort to ride. So I'm looking for something light, but which can carry a bit of shopping, and will handle the bumps on London's roads. My budget is GBP £500.

I've been looking at the Trek FX range. The 7.2 FX fits comfortably within my budget and the 2014 model is pretty! But it feels quite heavy when compared to the 7.3, and it's much slower off the mark at traffic lights. The 7.3 is £100 more expensive (and therefore over budget) and I'm not a huge fan of the colour. But is it worth paying a bit more and putting up with the look because it's lighter? It has an aluminium fork while the 7.2 has a steel one - but I've read elsewhere that some people don't rate an aluminium fork much and say a steel one is better for ride quality even if it makes the bike a bit heavier.

Also how do you know if you need a WSD model or not?