Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Wink What to expect at the LBS?

To disable ads, please log-in.

Hey ladies, I am new to cycling, just got my first adult bike in May and I am loving it a lot!

When I decided to get a bike, I did a lot of research on brands, ect, but not so much on specific bike shops, the place I got my bike from was ok, (picked mainly due to being close to my house) and my bike is ok, but as I ride it further it is becoming more uncomfortable, and I feel like it is not the right size for me at all, and probably not the kind I should have gotten, it is a Giant Escape W, it was under $500, so I don’t really want to put a bunch of $$ into it, so I have just resigned myself to getting a new bike sooner rather than later. However, I would like some guidance as to what my expectations should be at a bike shop, I wouldn’t go to Target and expect Nordstrom service, but I feel like I have no clue what is considered the standard of service at a bike shop.

Specific Questions:
    Is a fitting usually included, or just for bikes above a certain dollar amount?

What kind of service plan is customary?

Should I expect some guidance on what brands/models will be more comfortable/ suitable for my uses?

Thanks for reading my giant second post Please include anything else you think might be useful!

Good questions, and all I can say is your experience will vary. Some shops provide a lot of service, free tune ups etc, and some don't. Inquire in your community as to what shops people like, and why. At minimum, basic fitting for saddle height and cockpit should be done but the degree of how fine tuned this is depends on the shop. There typically isn't a service plan - but some shops will offer free basic tunes for the lift of the bike, or a year. And you bet they should try and fit the bike to your needs as a rider.