Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Right Shoulder Pain - Not sure what to do.

To disable ads, please log-in.

This shoulder pain has been an ongoing issue for me pretty much since I started riding but has become worse in the last couple of years. It's additive, the more I ride the worse it gets. Consecutive days of riding are worse. Harder and hillier rides are worse. The pain is close to the midl ine on the right side of my back and shoulder. It feels very deep. Sometimes the whole shoulder becomes numb when it get really bad. I notice my whole right arm gets slightly sore too. I did a 60 mile ride yesterday on my road bike and today I did a 25 easy recovery ride on my commuter and I could feel the pain in my shoulder returning. I really don't want this to screw up my riding season again this year

I am wondering if I have a muscle imbalance. Oddly my right bicep is significantly larger than my left. I've been considering seeing a PT about this but not sure I want to try that route for fear that it won't help and I'll waste the money.

Any suggestions appreciated.

The numbness has me a bit concerned - I have that but mine is related to nerve impingement and structural shoulder/neck/cervical spine issues. I cannot remember what you did last year for this - have you had a recent x-ray or MRI?

Does your shoulder hurt when doing pushups, chest presses, or over-head lifting?

Please see am ortho or PT... I have similar issues but I know the cause (car wreck...) to have that type of thing going on and not know if what you are/are not doing is making it better or worse...yikes! Please get it checked out!

You should it get it checked out, definitely.