Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Worried about my new bike - need reassurance

To disable ads, please log-in.

So I've taken my new Cannondale Synapse out for just a couple of short rides since I bought it last week. I've been riding a straight handlebar for nearly twenty years. Over the years I've had some neck and shoulder troubles and the straight bar seemed to be the way to go. Now, after physical therapy and training, things are much better and I wanted to try a drop bar bike again (and maybe go a little faster )

I went to a few LBS's and rode about 5 bikes. This one felt great while I rode around the neighborhood. Everyone says one of the good things about the drop bars is all the different possible hand positions to stay comfortable. Well, one of the problems I had yesterday was I was constantly changing positions. Nothing stayed comfortable for too long. All the other riders out yesterday seemed to look content and comfy and all I could think was "uh-oh". And then shortly after the ride, my neck started hurting.

I didn't ride far simply because I wanted to slowly get my body used to the new bike. So of course I'm worried. I'm sure there is probably a little tweaking to do with the adjustments, but what if I'm really not meant for a road bike? Any break-in suggestions?

Get a professional fitting. I would bet that at least one of your local shops offers them.
    Live with intention. Walk to the edge. Listen hard. Practice wellness. Play with abandon. Laugh. Choose with no regret. Continue to learn. Appreciate your friends. Do what you love. Live as if this is all there is.

--Mary Anne Radmacher

+1 on professional fitting.

Also, remember that your neck has muscles that may need time to develop. In the meantime, here are a few tips I've learned.