Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

What else should I be test riding?

To disable ads, please log-in.

I've been riding a straight bar bike for several years. Yesterday, we - the bike and I - went to get measured and fitted. The LBS guy put the bike on a trainer and had me pedal while he watched. He seemed surprised (and maybe impressed?) that everything appeared to be adjusted just right. So he asked me lots of questions and we discussed my riding style and needs.

"Can I show you a different bike?" he asked, and rolled in a Dolce Sport. OOOh...shiny! And red! It was like meeting a celebrity Anyway, I loved flying around the parking lot on it, but I know I should be test riding others. I will see a Trek Lexa (is that the name?) tomorrow, and would like to know what else is similar that I should try.

I'm 5'0", so I have the advantage of getting a good price on a leftover '12, but the disadvantage of the stores not having my size in the first place. Also, any model that doesn't have that funny stripe on the top tube will have an advantage (kidding - sort of).

Thanks for all the great info!

Those a good first two to try. I'd try as many brands as you can, even go to other LBS to get them. Then, once you've found your bike, start over again. I think it's important to start over again because each bike you ride will get you more used to the style, so your first two will not get the respect they deserve.
    My photoblog
    http://dragons-fly-peacefully.blogspot.com/
    Bacchetta Giro (recumbent commuter)
    Bacchetta Corsa (recumbent "fast" bike)
    Greespeed X3 (recumbent "just for fun" trike)
    Strada Velomobile
    I will never buy another bike!

Re: What else should I be test riding?