Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Thread: New to riding

New to riding

To disable ads, please log-in.

I just started riding my bike it's a cruiser. I'm 52 years old and about 40 to 50 lbs overweight . I have worked up to 9 miles in an hour . Is there anyone out there that has lost weight and how long before you started seeing even small results.

Quote Originally Posted by Cboudreaux View Post
    I just started riding my bike it's a cruiser. I'm 52 years old and about 40 to 50 lbs overweight . I have worked up to 9 miles in an hour . Is there anyone out there that has lost weight and how long before you started seeing even small results.
    Welcome to TE and to cycling! I started riding about 2.5 years ago and have lost close to 60 pounds, much of that in the first year. I was also doing other things than riding but the important thing is to be active and keep pedaling! As your rides get longer you will also need to explore fueling properly for the bike, but that will come in time.

Yes, I was obese and was able to get down to a normal weight. I've kept the weight off (with about a 4 or 5 pound fluctuation range) now for about eight months. My story is here: http://forums.teamestrogen.com/showthread.php?t=47094

Good luck! Keep riding! And pay attention to how much you eat. Exercise is important but cutting the calories is what causes you to lose weight.
    Trek Madone 4.7 WSD
    Cannondale Quick4
    1969 Schwinn Collegiate, original owner
    Terry Classic

Richard Feynman: “The first principle is that you must not fool yourself and you are the easiest person to fool.”