Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

To disable ads, please log-in.

Shop at TeamEstrogen.com for women's cycling apparel.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

No Women In Tour De France

To disable ads, please log-in.

Why is this????
    Felt F65
    Specialized Crux Expert Force (My baby)

Because it's a race for male professional cyclists? There's version of the TdF for women, too. I know that may not seem like much of an answer, but it's like a lot of professional sports. There are women's teams and men's teams and sanctioned events that are specific to each.

But I'm no Tour expert or even follower; perhaps someone has a more official sounding answer than that.
    Live with intention. Walk to the edge. Listen hard. Practice wellness. Play with abandon. Laugh. Choose with no regret. Continue to learn. Appreciate your friends. Do what you love. Live as if this is all there is.

--Mary Anne Radmacher

I can't think of a single pro sport where men and women compete against one another.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tour_d...e_F%C3%A9minin

Quote Originally Posted by Becky View Post
    I can't think of a single pro sport where men and women compete against one another.
    Not pro-only, and not competing against each other, but most major long-distance running races (marathon and longer) have men and women on the same course at the same time. So I can see where it might make sense for men and women to be in the same bike races together.

That's the only sport I can think of, though.

"I never met a donut I didn't like" - Dave Wiens

Quote Originally Posted by Becky View Post

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tour_d...e_F%C3%A9minin
    There are women in both Indy car and Nascar who compete against men. And there are a few other sports like dressage where women and men compete against one another. But it's not the norm for sure.